The Holy Spirit or to some, the Holy Ghost has gotten a bad rap. What do you mean, you may asked.  You have heard people say that the Holy Spirit is convicting them of something. Or the Holy Spirit made them feel bad. Or the Holy Spirit is on their case. Or the Holy Spirit is condemning them. On and on and on! I mean, come on, If I were the Holy Spirit, I would be tired of this.

Well, I want you to know that the Bible doesn’t teach that at all. How could the Holy Spirit be a condemner and a Comforter? Jesus did said the Comforter will come. So how can you said His job is to convict you? When His job is to comfort for you.

John 16 tells us the the Holy Spirit convicts us of righteousness and not convicts of our sin. Matter of fact Hebrews 10:15-17 says it best: “Whereof the Holy Spirit also is a witness to us for after that he had said before. This the covenant that I will make with then after those days saith the Lord, I will put my laws into their hearts and in their minds will I write them. and their sins and iniquities will I remember no more.

I don’t hear any convicting of sin in there do you? The Holy Spirit is part of our inheritance. And He seals us until the day of redemption. So I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to be sealed under condemnation all the time. I am so glad that the Holy Spirit is my Comforter and not my sin police!

