I heard a lot of people suggest that we are born in the image of God. Matter of fact I have said that we were born in the image of God. Guess what? We are wrong! How can I be born in the image of God and be born in sin? I don’t understand how that is possible when God is sinless. If I am born in the image of God, then I can’t be born in sin! Let the Bible interpret itself.

Genesis 1:26 says “Then God said, “Let Us make man in Our Image, according to Our likeness;…  Genesis 5:1-3 says This is the book of the generations of Adam in the day when God created man, He made him in the likeness of God. He created them male and female, and He blessed them and named them Man in the day when they were created. When Adam had lived one hundred and thirty years, he became the father of a son in his own likeness, according to his image and named him Seth.

So Adam not me and not you was born in the image of God. And Adam was born in the image and likeness of God. Then Adam became a father. From that point on everyone comes from Adam, that includes you and me. Since Adam sinned, we were born in him. This is why our problem wasn’t behavior, but it was linage. This is why we needed to be born again.

So if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature. See we had to get out of Adam and get in Christ. So you were not born in the image of God. You and I were born in the image of Adam. But now, we are in Christ. You and I are no longer a sinner saved by grace. We are saints of the most high God. Check it out for yourself. Grace and peace upon you!

