I know, I think too much. Maybe I don’t think enough. Anyway, I was thinking why is it so hard to motivate people for ministry? Most important, is for them to be consistent. I mean, it feels like we have to push and pull and motivate and prod people just to come to church. Are we as a body becoming boring or worse irrelevant? Oh my, I hope that is not it. The world is in trouble. But guess what? So is the church! You made not want to admit it. You may want to keep your blinders on, but the truth is the truth. We think we have impact, but look around the globe. Maybe not! We think we are making a different. Look around, maybe not! Lets get real about our situation. Somebody has to say something.

It’s like the parable, if you put a frog in a pot of water and gradually turn up the heat, the frog won’t notice it is getting hot until its too late. But if you put that frog in the water when its hot, he will jump out. (I hope I said that right) Anyway, are we like that frog that is sitting in the water while it gets hot and not notice it?

I may have the answer or not. But let me suggest that maybe just maybe we prefer the shadow over reality. Have we fell in love with the church instead of HIM? Have we loved the gift instead of the GIVER? Have we love doing instead of being? Have we become the object and not HIM? Are there more superstars than THE STAR (JESUS)? Do we love the symbol more than the CREATOR of it. I’m just saying.

I will leave you with this: Hebrews 10:1 which says, For the law having a shadow of good things to come and not the very image of the things can never with those sacrifices which they offered year by year continually make the comers thereunto perfect. Read also Hebrews 8:5,6

HAVE WE FALLEN IN LOVE WITH THE SHADOW?

Grace and peace upon you

