James 2:17 says Even so faith, if it hath not works is dead, being alone

I think we have this faith and works thing wrong. Well if I am honest, I took a lot of things I was taught as gospel. Didn’t check for myself and just believe. Now I am opening my mind and unlearning alot of things to learn alot of things. Now I am really letting the bible interpet itself.

James says alot of things about faith and works. He uses examples from Abraham and Rahab to deal with the justified by faith and works issue. I think some are getting the thought that you must do works along with faith to maintain your salvation. You know the faith without works scripture. So now we think that we have to do alot of works in order to maintain my salvation. So we are not relaxed or confident of our status in God. This leads to a life of trying and frustration.

So what is James really saying about works. Is it works or it is faith? Or is it both? Do I have to keep on working? Well “Abraham believed God and it was credited to him as righteousness.

So lets look at Abraham. When he offered Isaac. How many times did he do this? Once. Rahab was justified too. How many times did she opened the door for the spies? Once.  See works did not refer to a series of works over a lifetime. It was once.

So what I am saying. After you heard the Gospel, the Good News you responded and opened the door of your heart and offered your life to be crucified with Christ. And once you did this, you met the requirement of James 2. You don’t have to spend the rest of your life checking out your works. The whole message is about responding to the Gospel message, which you have already done if you’re in Christ.

So Remember daily works done over a lifetime do not justify and save us!

