Why are we obessed with titles? I mean really, are they that important? Has anyone experienced the change in people when they get one? It’s like, who is this person and what did you do with the other. Don’t get me wrong everyone doesn’t go crazy over titles, but some do. First it was the Doctor title, then it was the Bishop title, then it was the Apostle title. Now its Overseer and Prelate and Elder and Co-Pastor and Executive Pastor and I think we are starting to make up titles to suit our ego. I was once into titles too. So I know what it can do to you if you don’t really understand what comes with it and you’re ego driven. Trust me it will mess you up along with those your are leading. Really all its doing is putting confidence in the flesh.

Why are we pushing our religious resume so hard? I am learning that leadership is not a position but a service. Its not power based, its sharing knowledge and wealth. When we flaunt our titles we are putting confidence in the flesh. we are not suppose to do that right?

Paul said this in Philippians 3:4-6: If anyone else has a mind to put confidence in the flesh, I far more: circumcised the eight day, of the nation of Israel, of the tribe of Benjamin, a Hebrew of Hebrews; as to the Law, a Pharisee; as to zeal, a persecutor of the church; as to the righteousness which is in the Law, found blameless. And he counted as lost to gain Christ.

So maybe its not the title that’s the problrem. Maybe just maybe its the people holding the title is the problem.

