Romans 7:4 says So, my brothers and sisters, you also died to the law through the body of Christ, that you might belong to another, to him who was raised from the dead, in order that we might bear fruit for God.

This is the season for all religious activity. Lent, Holy Week, Good Friday, Palm Sunday and Easter, I,m sorry, Resurrection Sunday. Did I mention Ash Wednesday? Well that is the beginning of Lent.

I have plenty of questions concerning all of these religious activities. Here goes. Why are we celebrating them. I kinda get Easter and maybe Good Friday if it about the New Testament of His blood and not His seven last words. I know I’m in trouble. Let me also say I was all in on all of them except for lent, until a revelation of Jesus Christ and the New Covenant rocked my religious world. Why are we participating in Ash Wednesday when all our sins are forgiven and He does remember them no more. We have been acquitted. Why are people trying to govern themselves through self imposed laws (lent) that does not make you better or draw you closer to God and when its over you go back to doing those things. When behavior and performance is not what Jesus is about. Why do we wave palms in the air and have a whole day for it. Why is Good Friday about His seven last Words and not about educating people on the Love of God shown for man on that day. I have a lot more, but I will stick with these few.

All these things happen under the old covenant which I am not operating under. I can see using it as a teaching moment to educate people concerning the covenants and how God used to deal with His children versus how He deals with them now. I am sorry but I am not married to the God-man before the cross. I am married to an eternal risen Christ. Paul said I want to know Him in the power of His resurrection.

I will leave you with a quote from Andrew Farley book, The Naked Gospel. “Some Christians mistakenly obsess over everything that the historical Jesus did in the four gospels. We memorize his words and actions and try to imitate them the best we can. When we think of being the bride of Christ, we may imagine ourselves to only be married to Jesus of Nazareth–the God-man who lived a good life for thirty three years. But the Scriptures indicate that we’ve married to an eternal, risen Christ”

