Romans 5:19- For as by one man’s disobedience many were made sinners, so by the obedience of one shall many be made righteous.

Why do we have selective believing? Why do we believe parts of the bible and other parts we doubt or its not literal? What if we decide to believe the whole bible, from beginning to end? Would that be bad or good? At least we would have some consistency. One of the major issue of life is being consistent. We don’t help matters any with our inconsistency in understanding and believing what the bible is saying.  Take this scripture for instant. Any christian will tell you that they were a sinner. Some still say they are a sinner saved by grace (which is wrong). Here is something to think about. We were made sinners. We wasn’t sinners by choice. Because of one man’s decision, we were made sinners. Before we committed one sin, we were already deemed sinners. So our status as sinners was the result of someone’s life. And guess what? We believed it. Walk it, talk it and lived like sinners because we believe it. Then my question is why is it so hard then to believe that I am righteous without works? Many people (I was included in that bunch) believe that they must DO in order to be righteous. The last part of the scripture says “so by the obedience of one shall many be made righteous. So now, I am righteous because of one man’s actions. So the same way I was made a sinner, is the same way I was made righteous. By the actions of another person.  So if I can believe that I am a sinner, how come I can’t believe that I am righteous the same way. Both happened without any effort from me. But we choose to believe one over the other. And this inconsistency has cause a disconnect, discouragement and hardship for christians trying to maintain a righteousness (right-standing) that was a gift given and not earned. So you tell me if I’m just crazy or am I on to something.

