I learned something recently concerning bringing change to an organization.  I knew it would be difficult and I have been involved in changing the culture and vision and status of a few. The issues that I had the most problems with was dealing with the emotional fallout of the people involved in the change. Looking back, I don’t think I handled those persons involved emotions well. Matter of fact I really botched a few. And for the life of me, I couldn’t figure out why there was a resistance to change for the betterment of all. Well as I’m on my journey of learning, I found a jewel on Ted Talks concerning keeping your organization relevant by Pastor Rick Warren.  What he said opened my eyes to my problem. When you change something, those involved in the change suffer a loss and when you suffer a loss, there is a grieving period.  Ding, ding, ding. LIGHT BULB!  It wasn’t the fact that they were resisting change per say. They were grieving. And grieving won’t kill your organization. You just need to understand the grieving process and act according. Listen, Just go to Ted Talks and look up Rick Warren and check out his talk on this subject.  You won’t be sorry. Grace and peace upon you.

